6 Oct 2015

All posts from 6 Oct 2015


Ross Reynolds’ “Chat with the Chair,” Alumni Hall of Fame acceptance speech


On October 1, the Department of Communication honored five esteemed alumni who were inducted into the Department’s Alumni Hall of Fame as the Class of 2015. Watch chats with Chair David Domke about their jobs and community work, and listen to their acceptance speeches from the ceremony.

Robert Osborne (B.A., 1954): Primetime TV personality and contributor to the history of movies
(Osborne was unable to attend the event, but below are remarks made by David Domke and a message from Osborne).

George Walker (B.A., 1951): Selfless volunteer committed to local and statewide charities
(Introduction by Andrea Otanez)

Lauren Kessler (Ph.D., 1980): Literary nonfiction writer who combines lively narrative with deep research
(Introduction by Roger Simpson)

Ross Reynolds (M.C., 2011): Radio genius who brings life to hot topics
(Introduction by Hanson Hosein)

Collen Fukui-Sketchley (B.A., 1994): Business leader who represents and advocates for diversity
(Introduction by Jerry Baldasty)

Pete and Erik Nordstrom sent their congratulations via the video below:

A special thanks to our inductees and everyone who came to celebrate these accomplished alumni. To read full bios and stories about the inductees, click here. Visit our Flickr page to view photos from the event.

read more
Ross Reynolds’ “Chat with the Chair,” Alumni Hall of Fame acceptance speech